war ruin


Years later reminders of the brutal war can still be found today – this picture was taken in the center of Sarajevo, Bosnia-Hercegovina. Sarajevo was besieged over four years by Serbian troops after declaring independence. This was the longest siege of a city in modern warfare.


The Face of Mourning


Well I know mournings’s face whom the Sarajevo wind strafes


while flipping through newspaper pages stuck together from pools of blood


on the street where I awkwardly watch my steps with a small loaf of bread under my arm.


It’s in the river too when its waves sway a dead woman’s body


on whose arm I notice a watch as I run across the bridge with a bucket full of milk.


And, in the chill of December, I saw that face in a hand motion that stuffed a shoe of a never grown child


into a wood-burning stove. It’s a face that returns its thanks on the back of family photographs


that flutter beneath garbage trucks. And it is the face that rebukes a trembling pencil


for being incapable of writing a bulky dictionary of lament.


A face which nightly keeps me from sleeping which is why I watch my neighbor


who is always awake by the window staring into the blind darkness.

by Goran Simic

From the “Mourning of Sarajevo” journal

for more poetry and literature about this topic visit http://www.leftcurve.org/lc18-20pgs/aftersarajevo.html

Leave a Reply

